Skip to content

Diigo: Cool but Useless

October 8, 2007

Diigo is cool. There, I admitted it. It’s nice. It’s got great features. But its still not very well thought out.

For those of you who don’t know (and I didn’t, half an hour ago) Diigo is a social bookmarking service that aims to be higher than other sites… namely the famous del.icio.us.

It does what many other services can do. For example, it lets you add stickys (like Clipmarks), as well as other features.

But do we actually need these features? Yes, we do. I can say that Diigo compiles a lot of features together. Let’s go through these features together.

Highlight: Something that Delicious AND Clipmarks can do. So a bit hohum, trying to get people to switch over, right? Saving what you highlighted. But all the more a good feature.

Update: A kind commenter has brought to my attention (see comment 1, by Wade) that Clipmarks and Delicious do not allow highlights. So see comment 2, by Brad for more information. Thanks, Wade!

Clip: Clipmarks has that in the name!

Stickynote: I think (if I can remember correctly) that Clipmarks can do that, too. I can’t really remember well, because I haven’t been over to Clipmarks for a long time. What I do know is that no matter if it has it or not, you can still do it via clipping it.

Sharing: Come on, Diigo! Every service can do that! Thats why it’s called social (yes, ooh, ahh).

Update: Wade has also brought to my attention that Diigo does sharing as in GROUPS. Thanks, Wade! (comment 1, by Wade)

Those were all the features that were advertised. So basicly, it is a nice website, but it has plenty of room for improvement. But in the meantime, I’ll stay with Delicious.

So that was a bit of negative criticism… but heres a feature that other services don’t have: browsing bar thingy that sticks to the top of your page. It can be annoying sometimes though, but its what you NEED to bookmark a page.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2007 4:24 pm

    sorry to be blunt, but your key points are just wrong.

    – delicious and clipmarks do not do highlights

    – clipmarks does not do sticky notes

    — Sharing — yes, others do sharing, but only Diigo provides groups.

    love to hear more of your opinions

  2. October 8, 2007 4:45 pm

    Thanks, Wade, for your insight on my post.

    I believe that Clipmarks does highlights by way of clipping it? I think that would count as highlighting. And Delicious can also do that by select, bookmarklet, and it will appear in your summary.

    So Clipmarks doesn’t do sticky notes. I see; well, I said I wasn’t sure in the post.

    Sharing. So thats what they meant. Yes, but you can also collaborate on other sites? I believe Google Reader lets this happen.

    Love to hear more of YOUR opinions, and thanks for reading my post.

  3. October 8, 2007 6:08 pm

    diigo’s highlights are persistent, meaning that if you return the next time to the page, you will see them right there. also, if you forward to others, they will see the highlights, on the page. none of the social bookmarking services provide this.

    well, this is basically what a real highlighter is supposed to be doing.

    hope this helps.

    not sure I understand what your comments on sharing.

  4. October 8, 2007 8:15 pm

    Ah. This is becoming a persistent conversation.

    I suppose you were right.

    What I meant about the sharing was that with Google Reader (somewhat like a social bookmarking service) you can group and even collaborate.

    Thank you, Wade for your most interesting conversation.

Leave a Reply

